Monday, March 12, 2012

Jetton Named Co-Chair of Blue Ribbon Transportation Committee


         Missouri House of Representatives

March 5, 2012

CONTACT:  David Willis

Speaker Steven Tilley announces Blue Ribbon Citizens Committee on Missouri’s Transportation Needs

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. House Speaker Steven Tilley, R-Perryville is creating a citizens panel to address existing and future concerns on Missouri transportation issues.  Working alongside the Missouri Department of Transportation, Tilley’s Blue Ribbon Committee will meet at several locations throughout the state to discuss local issues and funding ideas.  At each meeting the committee will observe a presentation on local projects from MoDOT officials.  The meetings will give concerned citizens a chance to give their input on transportation projects and funding ideas.

“With large transportation projects being proposed, I want to make sure all of Missouri’s transportation needs are considered and that we take a close look at how they are funded,” said Speaker Tilley “The Blue Ribbon Citizens Committee on Missouri’s Transportation Needs is a great way to check the pulse of the state by providing an opportunity for Missouri’s citizens to voice their opinions.”

The committee will be co-chaired by former House Speaker Rod Jetton and former Senate President Pro Temr Bill McKenna. Other members include: Ben Jones, Blake Hurst, Brian Meisel, Dan Mehan, Duane Michie, Ed Soignie, Estil Fretwell, Jim Anderson, Joe Delong, John Nations, Len Toenjes, Mark Stidham  Neal St. Onge, Randy Verkamp, Ric Neubert, Scott Smith, Tom Crawford, Tom Dunne, and Tony Thompson.
“The Blue Ribbon Citizens Committee serves as a microcosm of Missouri citizens, representing numerous interest groups throughout Missouri,” said Tilley.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks you for your thoughts and comments. It is our hope that these posts will generate a helpful and interesting discussion.